Main Rivers and Dams of Karnataka Main Rivers and Dams of Karnataka Main Rivers and Dams of Karnataka Main Rivers and Dams of Karnataka
About Karnataka
Karnataka Tourism
Distance Vision
National Parks
Karnataka Temples
Rich Folk Heritage
Great Personalities
Jnanpeeth Awardees
Karnataka Education
News and Events
Rivers and Dams
Business Partnerships
Send Articles
Sitemap 3

Main Rivers and Dams of Karnataka

Main Rivers of Karnataka
  1. Cauvery or Kaveri River: Kaveri river, also called Dakshina Ganga (the Ganges of the south), is one of the great and sacred rivers of India. It has many tributaries including Shimsa, Hemavati, Arkavathi, Kapila, Honnuhole, Lakshmana Tirtha, Kabini, Bhavani, Lokapavani, Noyyal and Amaravati. It is also considered sacred by the Hindus as water will purify all sin. The origin of river Kaveri is Talakaveri located in the Western Ghats in Coorg (Kodagu) district. Talakaveri is a famous pligrimage and tourist spot set amidst Bramahagiri Hills near Mercara (Madikeri) in Coorg (Kodagu) district of Karnataka. It flows south and east for around 765 km, emptying into the Bay of Bengal.

  2. Tungabhadra River: The Tungabhadra is a chief tributary of the Krishna River. The Tungabhadra is formed north of Shimoga at an elevatibn of about 610 metres by the union of twin rivers, the Tunga and the Bhadra, which rise in the eastern slope of the Western Ghats, in the state of Karnataka. The Tungabhadra flows east across the Deccan Plateau, joining the Krishna in Andhra Pradesh state, from where the Krishna continues east to empty into the Bay of Bengal.

  3. Krishna River: The Krishna River is one of the longest rivers of India. It originates at Mahabaleswar in Maharashtra, passes through Karnataka and meets the sea in the Bay of Bengal at Hamasaladeevi in Andhra Pradesh.

  4. Ghataprabha River: The Ghataprabha river rises in the Western Ghats and flows eastwards for a length of 283 km before joining the Krishna. The river debouches by 53 metres at Gokak Falls in Belgaum (Belagaavi) District.

  5. Malaprabha River: The river Malaprabha also rises in Western Ghats at an altitude of 792 metres in Belgaum (Belagaavi) district. The river flows first in easterly and then in north-easterly directions and joins the Krishna at Kudalasangama, about 304 km from its source.

  6. Bhima River: The river Bhima originates in the forest of Bhimashankar in Pune, and flows through the states of Maharashtra and Karnataka. It flows for 861 km before joining the Krishna near Kudlu in Raichur taluk.

  7. Hemavati River: The river Hemavati rises in the Western Ghats at an elevation of about 1,219 metres and joins the river Kaveri near Krishnarajasagar.

  8. Kabini River: Kabini River is a tributary of river Kaveri, it originates in Wayanad District of Kerala state, south India from the confluence of the Panamaram and Mananthavady rivers, and flows eastward to join the Kaveri River at Tirumakudal Narasipur. The total length of the river is about 230 km.

  9. Sharavathi River: The Sharavathi is a river in India that originates at Ambuthirtha in Thirthahalli taluk, flows north-west through the Western Ghats forming the Jog Falls before joining the Arabian Sea at Honavara.

Copyright © 2021, - All Rights Reserved.   Kerala Tourism and Hotels