About Karnataka
Karnataka Tourism
Distance Vision
National Parks
Karnataka Temples
Rich Folk Heritage
Great Personalities
Jnanpeeth Awardees
Karnataka Education
News and Events
Rivers and Dams
Business Partnerships
Send Articles
Sitemap 3


Belgaum district is located in the Northwest region of Karnataka State. The ancient name of the Belgaum was Venugrama (in Sanskrit) meaning village of Bamboos. Till 1961, Belgaum was a part of the Bombay state. With creation of states based on the languages, Belgaum was brought under Karnataka State. The languages spoken here are Kannada and Marathi.

The Belgaum district is bounded on the west and north by Maharashtra state, on the east by Bagalkot district, on the northeast by Bijapur district, on the southeast by Gadag district, on the south by Dharawad district and Uttara Kannada district, and on the southwest by the state of Goa.

Belgaum has been ruled by the Chalukyas, the Rashtrakutas, the Rattas, the Goa Kadambas, the Yadavas, the Vijayanagar rulers, the Bahmanis and the Marathas. Kittur in Belgaum district is a place of historical importance, it participated actively in the Freedom Movement with whole country. Rani Chennamma, one of the prominent lady warriors of Kittur is known for her resistance to British rule. She along with Sangolli Rayanna and Babasaheb was first to start this movement.

Belgaum district consists of ten taluks namely Athani, Bailhongal, Belgaum, Chikkodi, Gokak, Hukkeri, Khanapur, Raibag, Ramdurg and Saundatti.

Places to visit:
  1. Kapileshwara Temple

  2. Bhartinand swamiji math, Inchal

  3. Sogal Someshwar Temple in Bailhongal taluk

  4. Kittur

  5. Shri Renuka Yellamma Temple, near Saundatti

  6. Hidkal Dam

  7. Vajrapoha Falls

Distance from Belgaum to the following places:
  1. Badami 160 Kms

  2. Bangalore 502 Kms

  3. Gokak 60 Kms

  4. Hubli 82 Kms

  5. Karwar 167 Kms

Copyright © 2021, KarnatakaVision.com - All Rights Reserved.   Kerala Tourism and Hotels